A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

ABack to Top

AES - Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) specifies the FIPS approved cryptographic algorithm that can be used to protect electronic data.

API - An Application Programming Interface (API) is a set of procedure calls that an operating system, library or service provides to support requests made by computer programs.

Asymmetric key - A form of cryptography in which the key used to encrypt a message differs from the key used to decrypt it. It actually means Public-key cryptography.

BBack to Top

Baud Rate - A baud rate is the measurement of the data transmission between computers and other devices.

CBack to Top

CCID - CCID stands for Chip/Smart Card Interface Devices. Chip Card Interface Device (CCID) specification is an approach to smart card reader communication and it defines a standard communication protocol for smart card readers that connect to a computer via USB, allowing the same host-side driver to communicate with any CCID-compliant smart card reader.

CE - CE is a European standard according to which marking is mandatory for certain product groups to indicate conformity with the essential health and safety requirements set out in European Directives.

CSP - Cryptographic Service Provider (CSP) is a software library that implements the Cryptographic Application Programming Interface (CAPI). CSPs implement encoding and decoding functions, which computer's application programs may use.

Certificate authority - A certificate authority (CA) is an authority in a network that issues and manages security credentials and public key for message encryption.

Certificate revocation list - In PKI, Certificate Revocation List (CRL) is a list of serial numbers for certificates which are no longer valid.

Challenge and Response - Challenge and Response authentication includes a group of protocols in which one party asks question ("Challenge") and the other party has to provide valid answer ("Response") for authentication.

Contact Connector - Smart card connector having a special spring switch to detect full insertion of a smart card with small deformation

Cryptography - Cryptography is the study of ways to convert information from its normal, comprehensible form into an obscured guise, unreadable without special knowledge.

DBack to Top

DES - The Data Encryption Standard (DES) is a method for encrypting information It is based on a Symmetric-key algorithm that uses a 56-bit key. It was selected as an official Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) for the Unites States.

Decryption - Decryption is the process of converting encrypted data i.e. ciphertext back into its original form, into its orginal, intelligible form.

Digital signature - Information encrypted with an entity's private key, which is appended to a message to assure the recipient of the authenticity and integrity of the message.

EBack to Top

EEPROM - Electrically Erasable Programmable Read-Only Memory (EEPROM) is user-modifiable read-only memory (ROM) that can be reprogrammed and erased.

EMV - EMV is a standard for interoperation of IC cards and IC card processing devices, for financial transaction. The name EMV comes from the initial letters of Europay, MasterCard and VISA, the three companies which originally cooperated to develop the standard. A portion of the standard is also included in ISO 7816 which is based on IC Chip card interface

Encryption - Encryption is the conversion of data into a form, called a ciphertext by using algorithms to ensure secure transmission.

FBack to Top

FCC - The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent United States government agency. FCC in charge with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable.

FIPS - Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS) are set by the Federal government which should be followed by all non-military government agencies and by government contractors. It is a numeric coding system that identifies States by a 2-digit code and counties by a 3-digit code.

Firmware - Firmware is software that is embedded in a piece of hardware. You can think of firmware simply as "software for hardware." It is created from source code, but it is closely tied to the hardware it runs on.

GBack to Top

GSM - Global System for Mobile communications (GSM) is the most popular standard for mobile phones in the world. Both signaling and speech channels in GSM are digital, and thus is considered a second generation (2G) mobile phone system.

HBack to Top

HID - Human interface device (HID) is a type of computer device that interacts directly with, and most often takes input from, humans and may deliver output to humans.

Hash function - In cryptography, Hash function is a procedure in which the any arbitrary block of data is converted into fixed size bit string called the hash value, and any change to the data will result in change in the hash value.

IBack to Top

IC - The Certification and Engineering Bureau of Industry Canada provides a certification service for both radio and terminal equipment in Canada. Testing of either radio or terminal equipment, to establish compliance with Industry Canada standards, is performed in private sector laboratories.

ISO 18092 - ISO18092 is an international standard that defines communication modes for Near Field Communication Interface and Protocol (NFCIP-1) using inductive coupled devices operating at the centre frequency of 13.56 MHz for interconnection of computer peripherals. It also defines both the Active and the Passive communication modes of NFCIP-1 to realize a communication network using Near Field Communication devices for networked products and also for consumer equipment.

ISO 7816 - ISO/IEC 7816 is an international standard related to contact type smart cards, managed jointly by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electro technical Commission (IEC). It includes physical characteristics, dimension and location of contacts and the interface and transmission protocols

ISO14443 - ISO 14443 is an international standard related to smart cards for contactless smart cards operating at 13.56 MHz in close proximity with a reader antenna. This ISO standard sets communication standards and transmission protocols between card and reader to create interoperability for contactless smart card products.

LBack to Top

LCD - Liquid crystal display (LCD) is an electro-optical amplitude modulator realized as a thin, flat display device made up of any number of color or monochrome pixels arrayed in front of a light source or reflector. It is often utilized in battery-powered electronic devices because it uses very small amounts of electric power.

LED - Light Emitting Diode (LED) is a semiconductor light source that emits visible light when an electric current is applied in the forward direction of it.

Landing Type Card acceptor - Smart card acceptor for the card reader that allows minimal contact between the contact pads on the Card and the acceptor

MBack to Top

MAC - Message Authentication Code (MAC) is a short piece of information used to authenticate a message. A MAC algorithm accepts as input a secret key and an arbitrary-length message to be authenticated, and generates a MAC.

MasterCard CAP - MasterCard CAP (MasterCard Chip Authentication Programme). MasterCard International has developed the MasterCard SecureCode program to offer flexible, robust and easy to implement solutions for cardholder authentication for electronic commerce. This program provides issuers a choice of a broad array of security solutions for authenticating cardholders. These solutions include the PC authentication program, chip authentication program and MasterCard's implementation of 3-D Secure.

Microprocessor - A microprocessor incorporates most or all of the functions of a central processing unit (CPU) on a single integrated circuit (IC). It is a central processing unit to control device or a system

Multi-factor authentication - Multi-factor authentication (MFA) is a security procedure in which the user has to authenticate more than one time using different authentication methods.

NBack to Top

NFC - Near Field Communication (NFC) is a short-range high frequency wireless connectivity technology which enables the exchange of data between devices over about a 10 cm (around 4 inches) distance.

OBack to Top

OTP - One time password (OTP) is a one-time PIN that is generated by reader. There are basically three types of one-time passwords: (1.) Uses a mathematical algorithm to generate a new password based on the previous, (2.) Based on time-synchronization between the authentication server and the client providing the password, (3.) Third type that is again using a mathematical algorithm, but the new password is based on a challenge and a counter instead of being based on the previous password.

PBack to Top

PC/SC - PC/SC is a specification for smart card integration in computing environment which is a communication protocol between the smart card reader and smart card. It offers interoperability of the products from different vendors by providing a standard high level programming interface which increases the flexibility and independence of PC-based software.

PCMCIA - PCMCIA i.e. Personal Computer Memory Card International Association is an international standards body with over 100 member companies which was founded in 1989 to establish standards for Integrated Circuit cards and to promote interchangeability among mobile computers.

PIN - Personal identification number (PIN) is an unique combination of numbers which separates one user from others in the group. It helps in doing secure transactions and commonly issued by banks to its customers.

PKCS#11 - PKCS#11 is one of the family of standards called Public-Key Cryptography Standards (PKCS). It defines a platform-independent API to cryptographic tokens. PKCS#11 API defines most commonly used cryptographic object types (RSA keys, X.509 Certificates, DES/Triple DES keys, etc.) and all the functions needed to use, create/generate, modify and delete those objects.

PKI - In cryptography, public key infrastructure (PKI) is an arrangement of creating a secure chain of trust for Internet-based communication

Private key - A unique secret key used by one or more parties to encrypt/ decrypt the data sent to each other.

Public key - A specific key that is published and available to anyone.

RBack to Top

ROHS - Reduction of Hazardous Substances(RoHS), is a directive from the European Union (EU) that restricts the use of electrical and electronic equipment. The banned substance are lead (pb), cadmium (Cd), mercury (Hg), hexavalent chromium (Cr (VI)), polybrominated biphenyls (PBB's), and polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDE's).

RSA - RSA (initials of Ron Rivest, Adi Shamir, and Leonard Adleman)is an algorithm used in public-key cryptography. It is the first algorithm which was adopted universally for signing as well as encryption. It can be used for encrypting messages and making digital signatures.

SBack to Top

SAM - Secure Access Module (SAM) is an additional feature in a Smart Card Reader that can enhance the level of security in your Smart Card based application. Normally card authentication is implemented in PC or application level. However with the presence of a SAM, mutual authentication can be implemented between card and reader which means that the PC will not perform the authentication but it will be done via card to reader and reader to card authentication making your system more secure and less prone to hacking.

SIM - A subscriber identity module (a SIM Card) is a smart card technology used exclusively with GSM-based networks. It is a smart card that securely stores the key identifying a mobile phone service subscriber, as well as subscription information, preferences and text messages.

SPE (Secure PIN Entry) - It is a part 10 of PC/SC 2.0 standard stated in "Interoperability specification for ICCs and Personal Computer Systems." The Secure Pin Entry allows the user to enter the PIN from the card reader PIN PAD which the reader sends it directly to the card for authentication in order to eliminate the possibility of exposing the PIN. The PIN is neither stored on the pc nor pc/reader connection but remains in the card/reader

Sensor - Sensor is a device that measures a physical quantity and converts it into an electrical signal which can be read by an observer or by an instrument.

Smart Card - A smart card is a device that includes an embedded integrated circuit chip (ICC) that can be either a secure microcontroller or equivalent intelligence with internal memory or a memory chip alone.

Smart card reader - A smart card reader is an electronic device that is capable of communicating with smart cards and a host. Supports both read and write data on the card.

Symmetric keys - In symmetric key cryptography the sender and the receiver shares a common key to encrypt and decrypt the message sent or received.

TBack to Top

Template - A template is a unique digital representation of key minutiae points obtained by special computer software from the fingerprint image.

Triple-DES - Triple DES is a block cipher formed from the Data Encryption Standard (DES) cipher by using it three times.

UBack to Top

USB - Universal Serial Bus (USB) is a serial bus standard to interface devices to a host computer

USB Token - A user identity credential that one can connect to a standard computer interface such as a USB jack; often used in addition to or instead of a password.

VBack to Top

VCCI - Voluntary Control Council for Interference (VCCI) by Information Technology Equipment or VCCI is the Japanese body governing RF emissions (i.e. electromagnetic interference) standards.

Visa DPA - Visa Dynamic Passcode Authentication (DPA) verifies the cardholder's identity and physical presence of the payment card through a calculator-sized smart card reader. When the correct PIN for the card and a "challenge" are entered the reader displays a unique one-time numeric response code that can be entered a web page or read a merchant over the phone. The response code is valid for that transaction only.

WBack to Top

WEEE - The Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment Directive (WEEE Directive) is the European Community that directs manufacturers for the disposal of waste electrical and electronic equipment.

WHQL - Windows Hardware Quality Labs (WHQL) is a Microsoft facility that tests and certifies third-party hardware and driver products for compatibility with Windows operating systems.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

ABack to Top

AES - 全称Advanced Enryption Standard,即高级加密标准,是符合美国联邦信息处理标准(FIPS)的加密算法,用于保护电子数据。

API - 全称Application Programming Interface,即应用程序编程接口,是操作系统、库或服务为应用程序提供的调用接口,应用程序可通过调用API执行命令(动作)。

Asymmetric key 非对称密钥加密 - 密码术的一种形式,其消息加密密钥不同于消息解密密钥。亦称公钥加密。

BBack to Top

Baud Rate 波特率 - 计算机与其他设备之间数据传输的测量单位。

CBack to Top

CA - 全称Certificate Authority,即证书授证中心,是为加密网络信息而发布和管理安全凭证及公钥的机构。

CCID - 全称Chip/Smart Card Interface Devices,即USB芯片智能卡接口设备。CCID标准是智能卡读卡器通讯的一种途径,定义了智能卡读卡器通过USB接口与主机连机时可用的标准通讯协议,允许同一主机端的驱动程序与任意符合CCID标准的智能卡读写器进行通讯。

CE - 欧洲标准,规定了特定种类的产品必须带有的安全认证标志,表示该产品符合欧洲指令涉及的基本健康和安全要求。

CRL - 全称Certificate Revocation List,即证书吊销列表,是无效证书的编号表。 挑战和应答:一组协议,这些协议在认证过程中分为两方,一方发问(“挑战”),另一方提供有效回应(“应答”)。

CSP - 全称Cryptographic Service Provider,即加密服务提供程序,是实施加密应用程序编程接口(CAPI,Cryptographic Application Programming Interface)的软件库。CSP有编解码功能,可供计算机应用程序使用。

Challenge and Response 挑战和应答 - 一组协议,这些协议在认证过程中分为两方,一方发问(“挑战”),另一方提供有效回应(“应答”)。

Contact Connector 接触式卡座 - 带特殊弹性开关的智能卡卡座,智能卡整体插入时产生较少畸变。

Cryptography 密码学 - 关于如何将普通信息转换成晦涩隐秘、只有专家才能破解的信息的学科。

DBack to Top

DES - 全称Data Encryption Standard,即数据加密标准,是一种对称加密算法,使用56位的密钥进行加密。DES被选为美国联邦政府的国家标准局确定为联邦资料处理标准(FIPS)。

Decryption 解密 - 将加密数据(例如,密文)转换为原始简明文本的过程。

Digital signature 数字签名 - 使用实体的私有密钥加密的信息,附在消息里,用于确保接收者接收的信息真实并且完整。

EBack to Top

EEPROM - 全称Electronically Erasable Programmable Read-Only Memory,即带电可擦写可编程只读存储器,是用户可更改的只读存储器(ROM),可通过高于普通电压的作用擦写和重编程(重写)。

EMV - 财务交易中IC卡和IC卡处理装置之间数据交互的标准。EMV的命名来自于Europay、万事达卡( MasterCard ) 与 威士卡(VISA)三大国际组织英文名称的首字母组成。此三大组织最早进行合作,共同开发了EMV标准。EMV标准部分收录于基于IC芯片卡接口的ISO 7816标准。

Encryption 加密 - 用算法将明文数据转换成密文,以保证数据传输的安全性。

FBack to Top

FCC - 全称Federal Communications Commission,即美国联邦通讯委员会,是美国政府的一个独立机构。FCC通过控制无线电广播、电视、电信、卫星和电缆来协调国内和国际的通信。

FIPS - 全称Federal Information Processing Standards,即美国联邦信息处理标准,由联邦政府制定,应用于非军用政府机构和与这些机构合作的政府承包商和供应商。 它是一个数字编码系统,其中两位的编码代表州,三位的编码代表郡。

Firmware 固件 - 嵌入硬件中的软件。通俗的理解就是“固化的软件”。固件由源码创建,运行在嵌入的硬件上。

GBack to Top

GSM - 全称Global System for Mobile Communications,是世界上应用最为广泛的移动电话标准。它的信令和语音信道都是数字式的,因此GSM被看做是第二代(2G)移动电话系统。

HBack to Top

HID - 全称Human Interface Device,即人机接口设备,可直接与人互动,通常用于接收人为输入的信息,也可能输出信息给人。

Hash function 散列函数 - 密码学中,散列函数是指将任意长度的输入通过散列算法转换成固定长度的输出(位串),即散列值。输入数据的任何改变都会导致散列值的改变。

IBack to Top

IC - 加拿大工业部认证和工程局为无线和终端电子设备进入加拿大市场提供的认证服务。需要达到加拿大IC认证标准时,无线和终端电子设备的测试都是在私人部门实验室进行的。

ISO 14443 - 非接触式IC卡标准,涉及紧邻读卡器天线并且工作在中心频率13.56MHz的非接触式智能卡。本标准制定了卡片和读卡器之间的通讯标准和传输协议,提高各种非接触式智能卡产品之间的互用性。

ISO 18092 - 本标准规定了对于计算机外围设备的连接而言使用工作在中心频率13.56MHz 的电感耦合装置的近距通信接口和协议(NFCIP-1)通信模式。它还定义了近距通信接口和协议(NFCIP-1)的主动与被动通信,实现网络化产品和消费类产品使用近距通信设备的通信网络。

ISO/IEC 7816 - 国际标准化组织(ISO)和国际电工委员会(IEC)共同管理的关于接触式智能卡的国际标准。它涉及接口和触点的物理特征,尺寸和位置,以及传输协议。

LBack to Top

LCD - 全称Liquid Crystal Display,即液晶显示器,是一种电光振幅调制器,通俗来说就是由放置于光源或反射器前的多种彩色或黑白两色像素组成的薄平显示装置。LCD耗电量极小,经常用于电池供电的电子设备。

LED - 全称Light Emitting Diode,即发光二极管,是一种施加正向电流时能发光的半导体电子元件。

Landing Type Card acceptor 下落式读卡器 - 配置下落式卡槽,最大程度上减少卡片触点和读卡器触点之间的摩擦。

MBack to Top

MAC - 全称Message Authentication Code,即消息认证码,是用于消息认证的短信息。用MAC算法输入秘密密钥和待认证的任意长度的消息后可以产生消息认证码。

MasterCard CAP - 全称MasterCard Chip Authentication Programme,即万事达卡“芯片身份验证计划”。万事达卡国际组织指定了万事达卡安全码计划,在电子商务中为验证持卡人身份提供灵活,健全和便捷的解决方案。该计划使发卡行在验证持卡人身份时可选择一系列广泛的安全解决方案。这些解决方案包括PC验证计划,芯片身份验证计划和万事达卡部署的3-D安全协议。

Microprocessor 微处理器 - 集合了CPU全部或几乎全部的功能的单一集成电路(IC)。微处理器是控制设备或系统的中央处理单元。

Multi-factor authentication 多因素验证 - 必须用不同方法多次验证用户身份的安全程序。

NBack to Top

NFC - 全称Near Field Communication,即近距离无线通讯技术,是一种短距离的高频无线通讯技术,可在相距10 cm(大概4英寸)左右的设备之间进行数据交换。

OBack to Top

OTP - 全称One time password,即动态口令,是读卡器生成的一次性PIN码。OTP从技术来分有三种形式,时间同步、事件同步、挑战/应答。 (1)事件同步 用前一个密码作为输入,通过算法中运算出新密码。 (2)时间同步 基于动态口令验证服务器和客户端的时间同步产生一个新密码。 (3)挑战/应答 用挑战码和计数器作为输入,通过算法生成一个新密码。

PBack to Top

PC/SC - 提供了从PC到智能卡的整合环境,是智能卡读卡器和智能卡之间的一个通讯协议。PC/SC提供了一个高级标准编程接口,使不同供应商的产品可以互用,增强了基于PC软件的灵活性和独立性。

PCMCIA - 全称Personal Computer Memory Card International Association,即PC机内存卡国际联合会,是一个有100多个成员公司的国际标准组织的国际标准组织。该组织成立于1989年,目的是建立一项集成电路国际标准,提高移动计算机的互换性。

PIN - 全称Personal Identification Number,即个人识别码,是一个独有的数字组合,用以区分同一群组内的不同用户。PIN码有利于安全交易,几乎所有的银行都会给客户分发PIN码。

PKCS#11 - PKCS#11是公钥加密标准(PKCS, Public-Key Cryptography Standards)中的一份子。它为加密令牌定义了一组平台无关的API。PKCS#11定义了最常用的加密对象类型(RSA密钥,X.509证书,DES/3 DES密钥等)以及使用,创建/生成,修改和删除这些对象时所有需要用到的功能。

PKI - 全称Public Key Infrastructure,即公钥基础设施,用于为网络通讯提供安全信任链。

Private key 私钥 - 供一方或多方加密/解密相互间发送的数据的独有秘密密钥。

Public key 公钥 - 向外界公开的特定密钥。

RBack to Top

ROHS - 全称Reduction of Hazardous Substances,即危害性物质限制指令,是欧盟针对电子电器设备立法制定的一项强制性标准。该标准禁止在电子电器设备中使用铅(pb),镉(Cd),汞(Hg),六价铬(Cr (VI)),多溴联苯(PBB's)和多溴二苯醚( PBDE's)。

RSA - 全称Ron Rivest,Adi Shamir, and Leonard Adleman,即RSA公钥加密算法,全称是该算法的三个提出者的名字。RSA是首个最广泛应用于标记和加密的算法,可用于加密消息和制作数字签名。

SBack to Top

SAM - 全称Secure Access Module,即安全存取模块,是智能卡读写器的一个附加特征,可提高智能卡应用的安全性。一般来说,卡片验证是在PC或应用级实施的。如果配有SAM,则可以在卡片和读卡器之间进行共同验证,意味着验证不再由PC进行,而是卡片-读卡器和读卡器-卡片的双向验证,大大减少了对系统的非法访问,从而提高了系统的安全性。

SIM - 全称Subscriber Identity Module,即客户识别模块,是专门用于GSM数字移动电话机的智能卡技术。SIM卡上安全地存储了数字移动电话客户的身份密钥,服务定制信息,偏好和短信。

SPE - 全称Secure PIN Entry, 即安全PIN码输入,是“ICC和个人计算机系统的互操作性规范”中PC/SC标准的第10部分。SPE允许用户从读卡器键盘输入PIN码,直接由读卡器发送到卡片进行验证,以杜绝PIN码泄露。应用SPE后,PIN码不会存储在PC上,也不通过PC/读卡器传输,而是通过卡片/读卡器传输。

Sensor 传感器 - 指一种检测装置,用来测量物理量,并将测量信息转换成电信号,观察员或仪器可以读取该信息。

Smart Card 智能卡 - 内嵌有集成电路芯片(ICC)的设备。ICC可以是安全微控制器,或带有内存储器的同等智能设备,或存储芯片。

Smart card reader 智能卡读卡器 - 能同智能卡和主机通讯的电子设备。可用于读/写智能卡上的数据。

Symmetric keys 对称密钥 - 对称密钥加密中,发送方和接收方共享一个密钥,分别用来加密发送的消息及解密收到的信息。

TBack to Top

Template 模板 - 特殊计算机软件从指纹图像获取的密钥细节点的独有数码表示。

Triple-DES - 三重数据加密标准(DES),是指对每个数据块应用三次DES加密算法,进而得到一个块密码。

UBack to Top

USB - 全称Universal Serial Bus,即通用串行总线,用于规范电脑主机与接口设备的连接和通讯。

USB令牌 - 用户身份信任状,可以连到计算机接口,例如USB插口;通常代替密码使用或作为附加于密码之上。

VBack to Top

VCCI - 日本的电磁兼容认证标志,由日本电磁干扰控制委员会(Voluntary Control Council for Interference by Information Technology Equipment)管理。

Visa DPA标准 - 全称Visa Dynamic Passcode Authentication,即Visa动态密码验证,用计算器大小的智能卡读卡器验证持卡人身份和支付卡的真实性。输入卡片的正确PIN码和“挑战”之后,读卡器显示一个独有的一次性数字响应码,此响应码可以在网页上输入或用手机读取。响应码仅针对当次交易有效。

WBack to Top

WEEE - 全称Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment Directive,即报废电子电气设备指令,是欧盟指导生产商如何处理报废电子电气设备的指令。

WHQL - 全称Windows Hardware Quality Labs,即Windows硬件设备质量实验室(认证),用于测试和认证第三方硬件和驱动产品是否兼容Windows操作系统。